All Sports Jamaica

"Uniting Jamaica through Sports"


The CONCACAF Gold Cup is the premier men’s soccer tournament for countries in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean. It is organized by the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF).

The tournament features national teams from the 41 member associations of CONCACAF. It is held every two years and typically takes place during the summer months.

The first edition of the tournament was held in 1963, and it was known as the CONCACAF Championship. The tournament has since undergone several name changes, and it was officially rebranded as the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 1991.

The format of the tournament has also changed over the years. The current format features 16 teams divided into four groups of four. The top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage, which consists of quarterfinals, semifinals, and a final.

The winner of the tournament earns a spot in the following year’s FIFA Confederations Cup, a tournament featuring the champions of each of the six regional confederations, as well as the reigning World Cup champions and the host nation.

The CONCACAF Gold Cup has produced some memorable moments over the years. Some of the most successful teams in the tournament’s history include Mexico, the United States, and Canada. Mexico has won the tournament a record eight times, while the United States has won six times and Canada has won once.

The tournament has also seen some standout individual performances. Players such as Landon Donovan, Javier Hernandez, and Clint Dempsey have all made their mark on the tournament’s history.

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is a highly anticipated event for soccer fans in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean. It is a chance for national teams to showcase their talent on an international stage and for fans to come together and celebrate the sport they love.