May 2024
May 29, 2024

All Sports Jamaica

"Uniting Jamaica through Sports"

For the U-15 Championship, Jamaica is Placed in League A

2 min read

The Most Recent Under-15 Tournament was Won by USA

The Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship, which will be held in Tampa, Florida next month, will feature 32 clubs from throughout the continent. Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago are among the teams that will attend the event.

The continental regulatory agency Concacaf announced on Monday that the tournament will be held at Hillsborough County Tournament Sportsplex on Florida’s west coast from July 31 to August 7. The tournament will feature 31 member associations and a guest country.

Philippe Moggio, the Concacaf General Secretary stated that they are ecstatic to be the host of the fantastic event. Especially since it is a crucial moment for women’s football in their area. Not forgetting that the Concacaf Women’s Qualifiers was held at the start of the year while they also await the July Upcoming W Championship.

Hundreds of girls from across North America, Central America, the Caribbean and North America will participate and enjoy all perks of a top-level Concacaf tournament during the U-15 Girls’ Competition.

The competition will be split into Leagues A, B, and C based on team rankings from May, with each division consisting of 4 clubs in yet-to-be-determined groupings.The 2 team winners and second-place runners from Division A will progress to the play-offs and compete for the match’s championship following the preliminary round.

The 3 team winners and the second-best finisher in Teams B and C will proceed to their corresponding tournament’s semi-finals. The semi-finals, finals and third place play-offs will be included in the knockout stage.

Jamaica has been placed in League A alongside Costa Rica, Canada Haiti, Puerto Rico, Mexico, the United States, and an unnamed guest country. The island is the only English-speaking Caribbean team in the game’s upper tiers.

Antigua and Barbuda, Bermuda, The Bahamas, Dominican Republic, Grenada, El Salvador, Guyana, Nicaragua, Honduras, Panamá, St Kitts & Nevis, and Trinidad & Tobago are among the 12 teams in League B.

Meanwhile, League C will be contested by Anguilla, Belize, Aruba, Cayman Islands, Guadeloupe, Dominica, Martinique, St Martin, St Lucia, St Vincent, the Grenadines, US Virgin Islands and Turks & Caicos Islands,

The most recent Under-15 tournament was held four years ago, when the United States won their second title by defeating Mexico in the finals.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *