June 2024
June 16, 2024

All Sports Jamaica

"Uniting Jamaica through Sports"

Jamaica Tallawahs Assistant Coach Credits Positive Vibes in Team for CPL Win

2 min read

Left-arm spinner Fabian Allen, who grabbed a Man-of-the-Match 3-24 in the final, took 11 wickets overall

The assistant coach of the Jamaica Tallawahs, Andre Coley, has revealed that his team won the Caribbean Premier League because of positive vibes in the dressing room. He said that his players showed adaptability, team balance and sharing of responsibilities.
The Tallawahs secured their third CPL Twenty20 (T20) trophy after cruising to an easy eight-wicket victory in Guyana. The team was considered as underdogs when they faced Barbados Royals in last month’s final.

Coley was happy that ”The players played as a team throughout the tournament. There was no overreliance on any individuals. All departments like bowling, batting and fielding were functioning seamlessly. All the players stood up to be counted.”
The Shivnarine Chanderpaul-coached Tallawahs had to endure some difficult moments on their way to the CPL crown. They secured wins in three out of their first four games, but proceeded to win one of the next six games — one of those was rained out.
However, they redeemed themselves by securing the final play-off spot. The Tallawahs showed their class by beating both St Lucia Kings and Guyana Amazon Warriors to secure a spot in the championship match. The Tallawahs will go down in history as the first-ever fourth-placed team to secure the CPL.

Captain Rovman Powell compiled 281 runs in 12 innings, while Shamarh Brooks, who scored an elegant century in the play-offs, tallied an impressive 241 in only seven knocks after he was mostly overlooked early on. Left-hander Raymond Reifer delivered an impressive 225 runs.

Left-arm spinner Imad Wasim led the bowling department with 17 wickets. Mohammad Amir secured 16 wickets before missing the final through injury.
Left-arm spinner Fabian Allen took home a total of 11 wickets as well as a Man-of-the-Match 3-24 in the final. Off-spinner Chris Green and fast bowler Nicholson Gordon took eight and nine wickets, respectively.

About Author