June 2024
June 16, 2024

All Sports Jamaica

"Uniting Jamaica through Sports"

Reggae Boyz Eyeing CONCACAF Gold Cup Glory Under New Coach Heimir Hallgrímsson

3 min read

A Look Back at Past Winners and Performances, and a Preview of the 2023 Tournament

CONCACAF Gold Cup: Past Winners, Performances, and the Reggae Boyz’s Ambitions

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is one of the most prestigious football tournaments in the world, featuring the best teams from North and Central America and the Caribbean. Since its inception in 1963, the tournament has seen some exciting moments and thrilling performances from various teams. In this article, we take a look at the past winners and performers of the CONCACAF Gold Cup and preview the upcoming 2023 edition of the tournament, with a special focus on the Jamaica Reggae Boyz’s ambitions to win the title under the leadership of new head coach Heimer Hallgrimmson.

Past Winners and Performances

The United States and Mexico have been the dominant teams in the CONCACAF Gold Cup, with both nations winning the tournament seven times each. Canada and Costa Rica have each won the tournament once, while Haiti, Honduras, and Jamaica have reached the final but have yet to win the title. In the most recent edition of the tournament in 2019, Mexico beat the United States 1-0 in the final to lift the trophy.

Over the years, several players have left their mark on the tournament, including Mexico’s Javier Hernandez, Canada’s Dwayne De Rosario, and the United States’ Landon Donovan. These players have not only been prolific goal scorers but have also led their teams to victory in the tournament.

Looking Ahead to the 2023 Tournament

The upcoming 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup promises to be a highly competitive tournament, with several teams vying for the title. The tournament will be held in multiple venues across the United States, including the defending champions Mexico, the United States, and the Jamaica Reggae Boyz.

The Reggae Boyz have been a consistent performer in the tournament, reaching the final twice and finishing as runners-up. Under the guidance of new head coach Heimer Hallgrimmson, the team will be looking to go one step further and lift the title in 2023.

Hallgrimmson, who was appointed as head coach, has a wealth of experience in international football, having led Iceland to the quarter-finals of the 2016 UEFA European Championship.

The Reggae Boyz will be hoping to build on this success and carry their momentum into the 2023 CONCACAF Gold Cup. With a squad that boasts several talented players, including Leon Bailey and Michael Antonio, the team has the potential to go all the way and win the tournament.


The CONCACAF Gold Cup has seen some exciting moments and thrilling performances over the years, and the upcoming 2023 edition of the tournament promises to be no different. With several top teams vying for the title, the tournament is sure to provide fans with plenty of excitement and drama. The Jamaica Reggae Boyz, led by new head coach Heimer Hallgrimmson, will be hoping to make their mark in the tournament and go all the way to lift the trophy. Fans can follow the team’s progress and get the latest news and updates on allsportsjamaica.com.

About Author