All Sports Jamaica

"Uniting Jamaica through Sports"

Caribbean Teams Placed In Groups In Women’s Gold Cup

2 min read

U.S.'s Andi Sullivan (25) moves the ball between Jamaica midfielder Vyan Sampson (4) and forward Jody Brown (10) during the second half of their 2021 WNT Summer Series soccer match, Sunday, June 13, 2021, in Houston. (AP Photo/Michael Wyke)

The draw has divided 35 women senior national teams based on the Concacaf rankings of March 2023

Three of the highest ranked Caribbean women’s teams have been drawn against tough competitors. The English-speaking Caribbean nations will be competing in the Concacaf Women’s Gold Cup. The teams are set to face each other in the later part of this year.
The draw has divided 35 women senior national teams based on the Concacaf rankings of March 2023. The teams have been placed in three leagues and subdivided into groups.
The inaugural tournament made its official draw on Wednesday in the United States.
The Concacaf women’s national teams will compete in FIFA Women’s World Cup before moving on to the Women’s Gold Cup. The World Cup will feature a record six Concacaf teams and it will happen in Australia and New Zealand. On the other hand, the Gold Cup will happen in September.
For the Concacaf Women’s Gold Cup, No. 12 St Kitts & Nevis, No. 8 Trinidad & Tobago and No. 4 Jamaica, will compete in League A, against nine of the leading teams.
The Jamaican football squad are likely to face No. 9 Guatemala and No. 6 Panama in Group C. Alternatively, they can avoid this by winning a play-off game against Canada in September. These two routes can also secure a spot in the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris.
Concacaf officials said that – USA and either Canada or Jamaican – will not feature in the qualifying rounds of the Gold Cup.
Trinidad and Tobago will be competing in Group A against No. 11 Puerto Rico and No. 5 Mexico. On the other hand, St Kitts & Nevis will face off against No. 7 Haiti and No. 3 Costa Rica in Group B.
The Gold Cup’s League B is made up of the next 12 best-ranked teams. These squads are divided into three groups of four.
Group A comprises Antigua & Barbuda, Dominica, Suriname and Guyana; Group B is Martinique, Honduras, Nicaragua and El Salvador. Group C is made up of St Vincent & the Grenadines, Bermuda, Dominican Republic and Barbados.
The 14 remaining teams will be in League C, they’ve been divided into two groups of three and two groups of four.

About Author