July 2024
July 18, 2024

All Sports Jamaica

"Uniting Jamaica through Sports"

Pollard has been removed from the West Indies’ white-ball tour of Pakistan

3 min read

After struggling to recuperate from a leg injury acquired during the previous T20 World Cup, West Indies white ball skipper, Kieron Pollard has been dropped from the team to tour Pakistan. Nicholas Pooran, who captained the West Indies in their 4-1 triumph over Australia earlier this year in St. Lucia, will head the T20I side, with all-rounder Rovman Powell taking Pollard’s place as a player. With Devon Thomas joining the squad, Shai Hope will captain the one-day international team for the first time.

Pollard, who is 34 years old, will go through rehabilitation and will be checked on again in a couple of weeks before the January 2022 home tours against England and Ireland. From December 13 to 22, the West Indies will play three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) and three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) at the Karachi National Stadium.

The ODI match will be West Indies’ 4th of 12 in the men’s Cricket World Cup Top League, in which the top 7 nations qualify for the 2023 World Cup to be held in India. The West Indies are currently ranked eighth out of thirteen teams, with the chance to leapfrog Pakistan into seventh place.

The team for the One Day Internationals includes: Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Shamarh Brooks, Justin Greaves, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein, Gudakesh Motie, Raymon Reifer, Anderson Phillip, Romario Shepherd, Devon Thomas, Dean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr., Shai Hope (captain), and Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain).

T20 team include, Nicholas Pooran (captain), Dominic Drakes, Kyle Mayers, Akeal Hosein, Shai Hope (vice-captain), Roston Chase, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Darren Bravo, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas, Sheldon Cottrell, and Hayden Walsh Jr.

Timetable for all matches in Karachi

1st T20I on December 13

The 2nd T20I will be played on December 14th.

The 3rd T20I will be played on December 16th.

1st One-Day International (ODI) on December 18

The second One-Day International (ODI) will be played on December 20.

3rd One-Day International (ODI) on December 22

West Indies have included numerous rookie players in two 15-man teams for their upcoming trip to Pakistan after failing to reach the T20 World Cup semi-finals. In T20 cricket, Nicholas Pooran will captain the Caribbean team, while in 50-over cricket, Shai Hope will head the team.

This will be Hope’s first time as captain of the West Indies. Pooran earlier guided the team to a 4-1 T20I series victory over Australia at home.

The Pakistan T201 include, Babar Azam (c), Asif Ali, Shadab Khan (vc), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Babar Pakistan ODI squad include, Babar Azam (captain), Asif Ali, Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Hasnain, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel and Shahnawa.

The West Indies will arrive in Pakistan on December 9 and play three T20Is and numerous T20Is at the National Stadium, Karachi between December 13 and 22. The three One-Day Internationals are part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup National League, which serves as a straight qualifier for the 2023 Cricket World Cup for the top seven countries including hosts India.

About Author