June 2024
June 16, 2024

All Sports Jamaica

"Uniting Jamaica through Sports"

The Laureus Sportswoman of the Year Award Goes to Thompson Herah

2 min read

Formula One Champion Max Verstappen Won the Men’s Award

Elaine Thompson Herah is coming from one of the best years in his career and she has now been named as the Laurens Sportswoman of the Year. She not only won a third gold medal in the women’s 4x100m but she also became the first woman to secure the 100m and 200m Olympic titles.

She has had quite a remarkable year. Her astonishing time of 10.61 seconds in the 100m final set a new Olympic record while also becoming the second fastest time in history.

Thompson said that this victory was very special to her since she managed to bring the 100m medal back to her home country Jamaica after Usain Bolt who also won the Laureus Awards before. The 29-year old is a five-time Olympic gold medalist and a double Olympic champion.

She further disclosed that she would continue working since she is always thriving to be a better athlete.

Other athletes who won the biggest awards of the night were Max Verstappen and Emma Raducanu.  

The award for the best male sportsman was picked up by Max Verstappen; the current Formula One champion.  Verstappen was rewarded because of his win in December’s World Championship at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

He revealed that he had secured his first Grand Prix by putting in a lot of hard work.

The Laureus Breakthrough of the Year Award was won by tennis sensation Emma Raducanu.  At the age of 18, the teenager entered the tennis world with a bang.

This award was mainly because of her US Open victory. She won the award ahead of India’s star javelin thrower and reigning Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra was also nominated in the category.

The Full List of Winners

World Sportsman of the Year Award: Max Verstappen

World Sportswoman of the Year Award: Elaine Thompson-Herah

World Team of the Year Award: Italy Men’s Football Team

World Breakthrough of the Year Award: Emma Raducanu

World Comeback of the Year Award: Sky Brown

World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award: Marcel Hug

World Action Sportsperson of the Year Award: Bethany Shriever

Lifetime Achievement Award: Tom Brady

Academy Exceptional Achievement Award: Robert Lewandowski

Sporting Icon Award: Valentino Rossi

Sport for Good Award: Lost Boyz Inc.

Sport for Good Society Award: Real Madrid Foundation

Athlete Advocate of the Year Award: Gerald Asamoah and the Black Eagles.

About Author